21
May
08

For the Technologically Impaired

OK. This website-building thing is like trying to make a Lego aircraft carrier with two sailboat kits and some Lincoln Logs

However, I’m learning a lot, in my standard hunt-and-gather way. So in the interest of being nice back to the internet, I thought I would share a little bit of what I’ve found, for anyone else currently tring to fight their way through building a site on iWeb with a blog, a calendar, galleries, etc

The first thing I’ve learned is that iWeb is really easy. Except when it’s not.

For example, say you get everything set up all pretty and enable your hyperlinks- only to discover that they all turn a bizarre and unexpected color? Perhaps even turquoise? Think you could fix that, right? Hells no. In iWeb, those are built right in to the template. Your options are two. You can go in and rewrite the code for the template. That fixes the problem all around, in theory, but I had some trouble making it go. Alternately, you can change the code for each page, which is easier but more time-consuming. Of course, either way you aren’t going to get a little color wheel to pick out what you want, so unless you want to just guess by typing in random words and numbers, here’s a chart for RGB, CMYK, and Hex colors.

Some things were surprisingly easy. As my website contains nudity and adult themes, I wanted to make sure it was designed to be easily filtered by parents. I’m a firm believer in the adult community policing themselves and being model citizens, as it helps keep the censors from having any more fuel to add to the fire. Plus, it’s just polite. And I’m still a Southern girl at heart. This turned out to be one of the easiest things I did all day: the nice folks at ICRA provide a simple questionnaire about what exactly is on your site.  You fill out the form, and they will either send you the pre-formatted labels to put in your code, or you can give them your FTP information and they’ll even do it for you. All for free. (These labels are what parental-control software picks up, so it’s important to have them).

Speaking of nudity, I live in an internet so rife with the stuff that I sometimes forget that there are places that don’t want it around (other than Myspace, of course). But I had just assumed that Flickr didn’t allow nudity- especially as I’d had some friends have problems with it. But, in fact, Flickr DOES allow nudity, assuming that it is properly tagged as such. The problem is that the button to tag things as ‘restricted’ doesn’t come up automatically like it does in, say, Model Mayhem. There is an Advanced Upload function that lets you tag things. You just have to look for it. And now I know how to set my Flickr so I can see everyone else’s nudity. Which is a good thing.

0 Responses to “For the Technologically Impaired”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

