28
Jun
08

Alice returning


Nixon-brambles

Originally uploaded by suicidenixon

I am Alice returning to Wonderland, heading back to American Canyon. I love this place, and I fear that like I fear with all such places that are a bit too wild, it will fall unexpectedly to a bulldozer between one trip and the next. Things have changed since my last visit, even though it has been only a few weeks. There are signs of human activity- the road has been bushhogged, and there are tents set up in one of the back rooms, the floor littered with beer bottles.

Nature has changed, too. The lush grass has burned brown under the early summer sun, the nettles are blooming purple everywhere, and the blackberries are huge and sweet, and I regret not taking any home to bake with. I bring with me the little praying mantis I’ve been raising – at about two inches long, I think he’s old enough to fend for himself. It is a little like an offering, turning him loose into this place.

My companion for the trip this time is Conan Sorano from Addicted Image, one of my favorite photographers. It is his first time here, and within a few minutes he is already helping lower me into one of the cement holding pits to rescue a garter snake trapped there.

We were, of course, here to take pictures. These are destined for upcoming site Zivity.com, which is currently beta testing. I’m a little extreme for a Zivity model, so we aim for softer, more romantic shots. Conan loves wigs, and the combination leads these to look a little bit Wuthering Heights. (We also shot some in a Marie Antoinette wig, which I ‘ll post later).

More on Flickr

1 Response to “Alice returning”


  1. June 28, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Odd. I’ve been asked by a couple of people at Zivity to start pushing their boundaries and see how far the members want to go.

    Anyhow, you, the images and the locale are as beautiful as always.


Leave a Reply

