07
Jul
08

VISA Goth: Utilitarian objects

Welcome to the first installation of the fashion section of my blog: VISA Goth.

The current fashion trend in utility belts gives me pause. Sure, they’re convenient. But I grew up in the 80’s, and I fear the fanny pack. I’m small and girly, and I don’t want to be swamped by a huge belt. I don’t want to look like I’m wearing a cop costume, pretending to be a cowgirl, or doing construction. It can’t be to steampunk, too burner, too butch. Nonetheless, I want one. And, while I haven’t found my perfect match yet, I thought I’d share a few of the good ones I have found in the search

Wild CardWild Card Utility belt

So far my absolute favorites, it figures that these are the most expensive of the bunch.


Alienskin utilty belt

Alienskin utilty belt

Alienskin fabric utility belt with Velcro closures is a Vegan alternative to the leather belts, and comes in a wide variety of colors.

Persecution utility belt

Persecution utility belt

Persecution‘s “Mata Hari” belt is available on Etsy.com. There are actually several belt makers selling there, but Persecution definitely has a unique look I haven’t seen elsewhere.

Lip Service utility Belt

Lip Service also made a canvas utility belt for their “Beyond the Thunderdome” line. These also zip or snap onto other pieces of clothing from that line.

Find a better belt? Make a better belt? Let me know, and I’ll pass on the word.

1 Response to “VISA Goth: Utilitarian objects”


  1. August 11, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I’ve been searching for these Utilitiy Belts. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

